Hage’s Team

THE President-elect, Dr Hage Geingob, is relentless in his march towards his transformation agenda and have in a very short time proven that he is his own man by announcing not only revolutionary structures to the new government, but also the candidates who must fill the posts that he has in mind to quickly delver the desired results.

Dr Geingob is now effectively in charge of the Namibian Government although the official swearing in ceremony is still two days away.

Dr Geingob pointed out that the creation of new ministries and the selection of cabinet members should be seen against the government’s poor track record of efficiency, poor service delivery and slow implementation.

According to him, the Office of the Prime Minister will now have constitutional administrative powers and be in charge of the government administration as well as coordinate the work of Cabinet.

The presidency will accommodate two ministers, namely the minister responsible for Economic Planning, and the Director General Tom Alweendo and be deputised by Lucia Iipumbu, and the Presidential Affairs’ minister Frans Kapofi deputised by Christine //Hoebes.

Two deputy ministers will also assist the deputy president. They are Alexia Manombe-Ncube responsible for the psychical challenges of Namibians and /Ui/o/oo Royal who will look after the affairs of the San. The activities of the Ministry of Veteran Affairs will also fall under the Office of the Deputy President.

A new Ministry of Public Enterprises (SOE’s) has also been created to oversee and restructure the state-owned enterprises. Business personality Johan Jooste has been appointed as minister and his deputy must still be appointed.

As promised, Dr Geingob announced the creation of a Ministry for Poverty Eradication and appointed Bishop Zephania Kameeta as minister, deputised by reverend Aino Kapewangolo.

The current Ministry of Education has been divided into two ministries. The Minister of Education, Arts and Culture will be former Hardap governor, Katrina Hanse-Himarwa deputised by Anna Hipondoka, while the Minister of Higher Education, Training and Innovation will be Dr Itah Kandji-Murangi deputised by Becky Ndjoze-Ojo.

The Ministry of Trade and Industry is to be renamed Ministry of Industrialisation, Trade and SME Technology. Immanuel Ngatjizeko has been appointed as minister, while Piet van der Walt will deputise him.

The Ministry of Regional and Local Government, Housing and Rural Development has been renamed Ministry of Urban and Rural Development with the former Omusati governor, Sophia Shaningwa appointed as minister and Walvis Bay mayor Derek Klazen as her deputy.

The new name for the Ministry of Labour will now be Ministry of Labour, Industrial Relations and Job Creation and Erkki Nghimtina will lead that ministry, while the current deputy minister Alpheus Muheua will stay on in his position.

Uutoni Nujoma has been appointed as the Minister of Land Reform and his deputy will be the former /Kharas governor, Bernardus Swartbooi.

Netumbo Nandi-Ndaitwah has been appointed as deputy prime minister but will also be the Minister of International Relations and Cooperation.

The other Cabinet members are Calle Schlettwein (Finance) deputised by Natangwe Ithete, former Oshikoto governor Penda Ya Ndakolo (Defence), Pendukeni Iivula-Ithana (Home Affairs) with Erastus Uutoni as the deputy minister, Dr Bernard Haufiku (Health) deputised by Juliet Kavetuna, John Mutorwa (Agriculture) with deputy minister Anna Shiweda and the Minister of Works and Transport will be Alpheus Naruseb.

Retired Major General Charles Namholo will take over at Safety and Security and chief regional officer of the Ohangwena Region, Daniel Kashikola, will be his deputy.

The Minister of Mines and Energy is Obeth Kandjoze, while no changes have been made at the Ministry of Fisheries and Marine Resources.

The Ministery of Information and Communication Technology will be led by Tjikero Tweya and Stanley Simaata will be his deputy.

The other Caninet members are Dr Albert Kawana (Justice) deputised by Lidwina Shapwa, Jerry Ekandjo (Sport, National Services and Youth) and his deputy will be Agnes Tjongarero, Doreen Sioka (Gender Equality and Child Welfare) with her deputy Lucia Witbooi and the Ministry of Environment and Tourism will be led by Pohamba Shifeta to be deputised by Priscilla Beukes.

Several deputy ministers still have to been appointed, and according to Dr Geingob he is still in a process of consultation and the announcement of these deputy ministers will be made soon.

By Natasha